Bomet County lies between latitudes 0º 29′ and 1º 03′ south and between longitudes 35º 05′ and 35º 35′ east. It is bordered by four counties, namely: Kericho to the north, Nyamira to the west, Narok to the south and Nakuru to the north-east covering an area of 2,037.4 Km2. The county is the source of major rivers such as Mara and Itare which flow into Lake Victoria.

The population of Bomet County was estimated at 723,813 (50.3% women and 49.7% men) in the 2009 Population and Housing Census and has similar features as that of the national population but different demographic indicators. The population was estimated to be 922,888 in 2018 and is projected to reach 974,089 and 1,028,130 in 2020 and 2022 respectively growing at an estimated population growth rate of 2.7 per cent with the same distribution for women and men. The rapid population growth exerts pressure on the existing infrastructure and provision of basic services in the county.

Bomet County is divided into five (5) Sub-Counties (Constituencies), 25 wards, 66 locations, 177 sub-locations and 1,977 villages as shown in table 1. The locations and sub-locations are administrative units of the national government. The Bomet County Government Coordination Act, 2014 established Sub-County, Ward, Community and Village administration. WARDS
Sub-County (Constituency) Wards Area in Km2 No. of Locations No. of Sub-locations No. of Villages
Bomet Central Silibwet, Singorwet, Ndaraweta, Chesoen and Mutarakwa 266 8 24 294
Bomet East Longisa, Kembu, Chemaner, Merigi and Kipreres 311.3 10 27 320
Chepalungu Sigor, Kongasis, Chebunyo, Nyongores and Siongiroi 535.8 15 42 465
Sotik Ndanai/Abosi, Kipsonoi, Kapletundo, Chemagel and Manaret/Rongena 479.2 17 48 471
Konoin Kimulot, Mogogosiek, Boito, Embomos and Chepchabas 445.1 16 36 427
Total 2037.4 66 177 1977
  Wards Silibwet, Singorwet, Ndaraweta, Chesoen,’’ ‘//,/,Silibwet, Singorwet, Ndaraweta, Chesoen and Mutarakwa Mutarakwa+   constituncies, Konoin Bomet East Bomet Central Chepalungu Sotik